Chicken of a Different Q: Hursey’s Bar-B-Q

Amble up to the Burlington, NC area and you’ll find old fashioned bbq joints called Hursey’s Bar-B-Q. These family style locales are full of tasty meat and wholesome sides.

The sign proudly proclaimed the home of “broasted chicken” – which I had to Google. Wanting to taste this technique, we both ordered chicken and bbq plates full of meat, slaw, hushpuppies and fries

The chicken was delicious! I got dark meat which was juicy and fried crisp. The batter on the chicken was flavorful, but not thick. The pork was wonderfully moist and not too vinegary. Tasty, but simple. Brian liked the slaw because of its small cut, I say “meh.”

This was also the first place I tasted the NC-local fave Cheerwine. This bubbly, spicy, cherry concoction is now a fave. It’s sweet and wonderfully southern.

A wonderfully southern meal to be repeated for sure!

Distance from Raleigh: 59 miles or about an hour – Get the Route

Wander Well Tips:

  • Come hungry – portions are hearty
  • Order it with Cheerwine – you won’t be sad
  • There are more locations – Elon, Burlington and Graham

About Dawn A Crawford

Communications and Social Media Lover - I am a weaver of words and communities. I live life loudly and without regret. I garden to make the world a more beautiful place. I've achieved my dream to live near the ocean. I enjoy every day as if it was my last.
This entry was posted in North Carolina and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

