Day Trip: Muscadine, BBQ and a River Wander

I get a bug in me for dirt. It’s a bug to connect with the land, see some people who work a lot harder than I do, and feel what our country is really all about. I want to see tractors, feel the grace of the hot sun on my neck and shake the calloused hands that work the earth.

I have daydreams of owning a working farm. I know I don’t have the grit or know-how to make it successful, but I fantasize about herding goats, tilling planting rows and canning the bounty of the season. The allure of waking up to be part of a living cycle rather than signing into a computer sounds wonderfully real and honest.

IMG_1998To get my fix I plotted a day trip through Alamance County, NC to seek out farm animals, road-side farm stands and rural life. For a wider scope of all the offerings in Alamance County check out this Google Map I created from the information on the NC Farm Fresh website. See all the photos from our trip.

Our Day Trip (click on the locations below to read more):

About Dawn A Crawford

Communications and Social Media Lover - I am a weaver of words and communities. I live life loudly and without regret. I garden to make the world a more beautiful place. I've achieved my dream to live near the ocean. I enjoy every day as if it was my last.
This entry was posted in North Carolina and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

